On March 21 at 10:20 I’ll be giving a lecture entitled “Taste of Hope, Bread for the Journey: Eucharist and the Suffering World” at the International Diakonia Course offered at the Valamo Lay Academy at the monastery of New Valamo. The course has been organized by Filantropia, the international missions, aid and development agency of the Orthodox Church of Finland. I am a member of the boad of Filantropia. The course will focus on a variety of topics having to do with the church’s work of service to our neighbors, including in Syria, Armenia, and Finland. The goal of my lecture is to get people thinking concretely about what the Eucharist has to do with the church’s response to the suffering of our neighbor.

Please see the English version of the Filantropia web site for more information about Filantropia and its work:

http://www.filantropia.fi/eng

There is only a Finnish version of the page devoted to the course, and I haven’t had the chance yet to translate it. If I find time soon, I will post the translation. In the meantime, if you’re interested you could try plugging the page into Google Translate. If you do, let me know if the results are at all intelligible.

